The Story Behind The Shot: Groomsmen

This picture warms my heart, mainly because it is a picture of my brother and his best friends Adam and Ben. It was the morning of Chris’s wedding, and those boys came over to my sister’s house to hang out and get ready with us and our cousins. It’s almost easier for me to shoot pics of the guys, because they are not as paranoid about looking “pretty” and are really just enjoying the moment and letting things happen naturally. All I had to do was hang back and let them be crazy and be themselves.  It was an amazing morning filled with fun and laughter. Even the “adults” in our family got bored and came over to have some fun with us “kids”.  We were outside shooting groomsmen pics, and I snapped this reaction shot after I yelled “You guys just won the superbowl!!!” This captures their humor and their relationship to a tee, and reminds me that it’s not always about the lighting, the location or the pose. It’s about the moment.

Leave a Reply

