Q&A Fridays: How to Make Bokeh Shapes!!

Finally! I learned how to create shapes for the bokeh effect, something I’ve been wanting to learn for so long. “Bokeh” refers to the out-of-focus highlights you see in pictures. Typically these highlights are reflected as circles, but thanks to some research I learned how to create my own bokeh shapes, and in this case I created a heart shape. Who knew what a pair of scissors and black paper taped to a lense can do!!

Here’s where it started. With a set of old christmas lights, shot taken blurry:

The first attempt was a little off, I think I cut the heart shape too big:

Almost there!!…….

And voila!! Bokeh hearts :). Loves it!!

Leave a Reply

