The 10,000 Hour Rule

A couple months ago, I read the book “Outliers” by Malcolm Gladwell. The book examines the factors that contribute to extreme success. He mentions the “10,000 Hour Rule”, stating that the key to any level of high success is spending a total of around 10,000 hours towards practicing and perfecting one skill.  This caught my attention, because over the years I have had many awesome jobs: Painted Murals, Flower Arrangements,  Wedding and Event Planning, Sales, Photo Editing….but never have I spent 10,000 hours perfecting one of those skills. Did I waste the last ten years being mediocre at a lot of things versus becoming an expert on one of those skills? I certainly don’t want to spend the next 10 being an amateur at several things. I want to become an expert at one skill!

There is a lot of thinking and planning ahead of me. I’m in a new chapter in my life and I don’t intend to waste time on the trivial stuff. My goal is to do what makes me happy and continue to experience beautiful things.

Time to draft up my goals list….

Leave a Reply

